It’s Almost Time for a New Car

BMW 135i Hatchback I drive a 1987 Acura Integra that I bought in 1986.  I love the car.  We bought a 2001 Acura TL to replace it, but after several months, I went back to driving the Integra.  I won’t go into the details because an article will be published in our local paper about my car in a couple of months.  However, because my car will be 21 years old, I’ve been thinking about replacing it.  Several years ago, I thought about getting the Mazda Protege 5, but I wasn’t ready to give up the Integra yet.  I love the flexibility of a hatchback with the rear wiper without the look of “your father’s station wagon.”  A few months ago, I thought it might be time for me to indulge in the Nissan 350Z; I’ve always loved all the Z cars.  However, research showed that mechanically it wasn’t as reliable as I had hoped (I’ve had an unreliable car before, but that’s another blog).

I had a 12 year subscription to Car and Driver but canceled it after my daughter was born because I had no time for reading magazines.  Yes, my husband is the car guy in the family, but I’m really not that far behind… except that I haven’t been keeping up for the past 10 years!  Last month, I was waiting to be seen at a doctor’s office and got the chance to glance through an entire issue of Car and Driver.  My immediate reaction was that reading the magazine was like watching a soap opera:  An hour later, I was all caught up with up-to-date car news as if I never stopped!  The most wonderful thing was that I found my new car!  It’s a hatchback.  It’s fast, looks great, and in my price range!  It’s the new 2008 BMW 135i!  I’ve included a photo, and here’s a link to the article I read:  http://www.caranddriver.com/carnews/13284/2008-bmw-128i-and-135i-coupes-official-photos-and-info.html.  Can’t wait!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wilson
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 05:24:00

    Being one (and only?- other than your hubbie) of your male readers, I totally did not get the soap opera reference. Sorry! 😉

    Reply

  2. sez_who_sez_you
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 15:55:00

    As long as you stayed away from the PT Cruiser! LOL
    Enjoy car shopping!!! Take care, Tracy

    Reply

  3. boltnut55
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 16:56:00

    Wilson – that’s what I get for blogging in the middle of the night when I should be sleeping.  Soap operas – you can stop watching for years, come back to watch one episode, and get caught up right away as if you never stopped watching!

    Reply

  4. Shutterbugd
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 20:19:00

    I want a Honda Oddysey minivan!!!  my DIL’s SIL just got one.. with all the works… I DO NOT like my 2007 Tahoe… I’m a minivan mama even though my kiddos are grown… love all the space…. so I look frumpy… I AM frumpy… teeheeeee
    be sure and post pics of the new wheels!  mmmm I can smell your new car smell now! 
    Armymom  <—not sure on the soap comments.. just got back into Y&R and am still catching up after almost a year… BUT I did stopped watching for 20 yrs.. LOL

    Reply

  5. boltnut55
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 18:18:00

    Armymom – so when you started watching Y&R again, did you sort of understand what was going on even though you hadn’t watched for 20 years?!  That’s what always happens to me when I watch GH!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

