The Tailbone is Very Important

I know… you’re all afraid of TMI, too much information, but don’t worry.  It’s pretty harmless.  As some of you may know, I have a massage therapist come to the house every so often.  I need the deep tissue massage because of back and arm pain issues.  Last Tuesday, as I was getting ready, I had to go downstairs to look for something.  I wasn’t paying attention and was in a hurry, so I took one step, slipped and went bouncing on my tailbone down the stairs.    Well, luckily after I stopped screaming, I got my massage and felt somewhat better.

I saw the chiropractor a couple of days ago, and he took x-rays.  The good news is that nothing was fractured, but internally, it’s bruised.  It hurts when I get out of the car, when I carry heavy items, when I move things around, and lots of other times whether I put actual pressure on it or not!  That’s pretty amazing and a learning experience.  We do take our body parts for granted, and every part has a job.  When something isn’t quite right, it affects us dramatically.

So the takeaway?  Make sure you hold the bannister and get yourself grounded before walking down the stairs.  Kids may enjoy sliding down the stairs and possibly even adults BUT without that initial drop onto the stairs with subsequent bumps downward!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cz_scrap
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 07:10:00

    Ouch!! I haven’t had this happen, but I know several people who have and it hurts! Hope it heals soon!

    Reply

  2. sez_who_sez_you
    Sep 06, 2007 @ 10:41:00

    Ouch! I hope you feel better! I know a tailbone injury can really hurt. A friend of mine years ago chipped hers while giving birth to one of her daughters. It hurt her for months!!! Hugs, Tracy

    Reply

  3. munchies333
    Sep 07, 2007 @ 03:23:00

    Your post reminds me of this song. 🙂  Hope it heals fast!

    Reply

  4. Shutterbugd
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 02:22:00

    OH ROSE!! ouch… I have had a BAD tailbone injury.. it hurt for months… a chiro really helped!!!  I know the pain you are feeling… get a hemrroid pillow!!! LOL  the round one with a hole in it… or even a reg pillow to sit on… it helps!
    I slid down a wall in 8th grade and landed on my tailbone… OWWWWWWWWWWWW….  my mom took me to the chiro quick!!  he adjusted me.. it was actually out of place… not bent backward.. thank goodness cause then they gotta do somethin gross to pull it back down.. heehee  😮
    hope you heal quick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

