I’m Trying to Buy a Cow…

I get the best ideas from Oprah.  Several years ago, I found out about an organization called Donor Choose at www.donorchoose.com.  Teachers would write about what they would like for their classrooms, and contributors can choose what projects they want to fund.  In exchange, the contributor receives photographs of the children using what you help fund and thank you letters written by the children.  Oprah wants to know how her money is being used, and I’m always curious about that… even though I’m sure we donate different amounts of money! 

The other evening, I was watching Oprah, and her show featured www.kiva.org.  On this site, people from other countries ask for money to be lent to them for various reasons, like buying supplies to make jewelry or handbags, upgrading machinery, etc.  Contributors lend them money, and when they make enough money, they repay it.  Then the contributor can decided if the money will be lent out again or not.  Of course the business person has a sponsor organization who checks them out.  In addition, people volunteer to go to different countries to check on the businesses, help them write a blog online, and provide business knowledge as well.

And that’s how come we are trying to buy a cow in Azerbaijan.  Mr. Tahir Aliyev is a farmer with four cows and would like to add another one.  If someone else would like to have a small ownership of a cow in Azerbaijan, go to www.kiva.org.  If he is still looking for financing, you can donate $25 to his cause.  Because of the overwhelming response from Oprah’s show, they hardly have anyone left seeking funding, but every so often, one will pop up.  Have fun!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sez_who_sez_you
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 16:33:00

    Being a sub at a junior high school, I’ve become friends with several of the teachers. I know of one who has used the donorschoose with great results. She is a sixth grade science teacher. I think it is a great program, I like the part where they have the kids write thank you notes. Having subbed for the past five years, I don’t think ‘shocked’ is the right word for it, more like ‘disheartning’ to see so many children have no regard for thankfulness. Just today, a teacher passed out some candy to my class. She left afterwards. One of the kids got up and said, “Go check the trashcan and count the candy wrappers! I think some of you got more candy than I did!” Of course I did NOT let him, and told him that his behavior was not appropriate. He should not be worried who got what, but to be thankful that he received candy at all. That one is minor to some of the other examples I could share.
    I will check out kiva.org. It sounds like a wonderful organization! Have a great day! Tracy

    Reply

  2. munchies333
    Sep 13, 2007 @ 02:38:00

    I think I caught that episode of Oprah too!  But did I spring into action like you did?  Noooooo… But I’m inspired now. 😛

    Reply

  3. Momof2GreatCats
    Sep 13, 2007 @ 21:48:00

    What a great idea!  (and a great title for a blog post!).
    Thanks for sharing this!Jen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

