I Walked a 5K Today

Three years ago and about 18 pounds lighter, I walked my first (and possibly last) marathon.  After much laziness, recently I decided to sign up and train for a 5K, pretty funny because one figures that if one can walk 26.1 miles, then one should be able to walk 3 miles without training.  Other than being 18 pounds heavier, I’m also three years older and not quite in the shape I used to be, plus I’ve been experiencing some foot, heel, ankle, and calf pain… that about covers the entire legs, minus the thighs! 

The event was this morning.  My brother-in-law came over last night, and I tried to stay up but decided to go to bed when it was clearly too late for me, about 2:00 a.m.!  In addition to the lack of sleep, I have been coming down with some flu-like symptoms in the past several days.  I woke up at 7:15 this morning, got all my walking equipment ready, from wicking sports bra to wicking socks, sunglasses to sunblock, ate my “special events” breakfast of … turkey, mashed potatoes, and gravy, and headed out to the event.  I purposely drove my old car to ensure that I would fit a standard “avenues” space in case I actually found one.  By the time I was near the event, I was already running about 15 minutes behind schedule because I was supposed to meet a friend.  Thank God I found a space about four blocks away, and I was actually able to fit after several manuevers (it’s been a while since I’ve had to park in a challenging space!).  I met my friend at about 8:26, and crossed the starting line at 8:33:39 a.m. 

My goal was to finish in 48 minutes, walking 16 minute miles, otherwise known as 3.75 miles per hour.  Either way, it’s slow by most measurement.  My official time was a little more than the actual because I got a late start by several minutes, so my unofficial time is 53:30, which is 17.15 minutes per mile, not quite what I was hoping for, but at least I finished.  Right afterwards, I met up with my friend, who averaged about 10 minutes per mile, and went to eat dim sum.  Of course I ate way more calories that I expended (about 375 expended but possibly about 1,000 eaten!).

I came home and soaked my aching feet in an ice bath for about 10 minutes and took a quick bath as well.  By nightfall, I had come down with a fever of almost 100 degrees and sent my husband to the local pharmacy for cold medication, cough syrup, and soft tissue!  I guess I won’t be exercising this week!

I’m hoping to find a local 10K in January and still hold some hope for walking two half-marathons in 2008.  My goal is to spend the next 25 years walking two marathons a year in different states to cover the entire United States.  People have run marathons in all of the world’s continents, so I should be able to at least walk one half-marathons in each state!  Yes, there is a marathon that takes place in Antartica – imagine training for that!  The marathon is sold out for 2008 and 2009 and is almost halfway to being sold out for 2010!  The slowest runner finished faster than I walked in my last marathon.  In freezing Antartica, where the temperature in five to 20 degrees!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette33
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 08:14:00

    My collegue used to run 5 Ks.  She has been trying to train for the last year to get back into it, but life seems to keep getting in the way.  I’m a lazy butt, more power to you!

    Reply

  2. sez_who_sez_you
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 09:36:00

    HEY! CONGRATS!!! I think what you did was awesome. I don’t know if I could have done that! I like your goals! Good luck!!! Have a good day, and I hope you feel much better! (((((HUGS)))) Tracy

    Reply

  3. Shutterbugd
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 13:09:00

    owwwww my feet hurt just reading that!  good for you! 
    looks like you and I both are ignoring our blogs… LOL 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

