First Day of Middle School

Today was Caitlin’s first day of middle school.  She was SO excited last night and could barely sleep, finally falling asleep a little after 11:00 p.m.  Of course I woke her up when I came in at 11:20 p.m. to give her kisses.  Funny thing… for the first four years of her life, I NEVER went to check on her after she fell asleep because I was so scared she would wake up (we had this long bedtime routine that ended with me holding her until she fell asleep… which could be a 10 minute or a three hour – one time only – event).  When she turned four, I told her she was on her own… and ever since then, almost every night I’d go and “bother” her after she fell asleep because I knew she could fall asleep on her own if I woke her up.  I know many moms who would pick up their sleeping infants to caress and play with them while they slept.  Umm, no way!  Anyway, I digress…

She woke up with a smile in her voice this morning.  She’s now in charge of making and packing her lunches, so she microwaved her pork bun and stacked her snacks and fruits into her lunch box.  She had a back pack filled with all her supplies, two bags of supplies, and her lunch box.  We went outside to take our “first day of school door photos” which you’ll never get to see because I used the film camera  First, we took one at the front door.  Our front door is at the side of the house, so my back was against the fence.  I declared, “This is the last year I’m going to be able to take a full length shot of you because you’re going to be too tall next year.”  We took the second one in front of the garage door.  I’ve always done that because I knew some day, we would run out of room at the front door.  Then she put on her new “middle school” jacket which is navy blue instead of burgundy, and we loaded her stuff into my car.  I looked at her and said, “Sweetie, you look SO grown up in your new jacket.  We have to take another one with your jacket on at the garage door” and did just that.

I drove her to school, walked her up to her extended care room which was filled with all the middle school kids noisily talking to each other.  I took a final photo of her with her friends, but first I had to announce, “Okay everyone.  This is a film camera.” I turned it around so that they could tell there was no screen.  “That means I’m only taking one photo!”  One of the girls yelled, “WOW, that’s really cool!”  I snapped the photo; they were perfect models.  I left.  Oh, I make a lot of announcements to them.

We went to our traditional “first day of school” dinner at Denny’s after her volleyball tryouts.  I ordered the Zesty Nachos, she ordered a sizzling breakfast platter, and Daniel ordered a burger.  Being in charge of her lunches mean that she had to plan the menu, figure out the quantities, and buy the food.  We went to the supermarket after dinner; it looks like Chef Boyardee and Mac and Cheese are in her future.  Afterwards she commented, “This is tiring!”  And she wonders why I resort to turkey sandwich and banana for her lunches!  When she got home, she packed her backpack with everything she needed for tomorrow, packed her clothes for volleyball practice, and made sure she had everything in place for packing her lunch in the morning.

I’d call it a successful first day of school.  My baby has suddenly matured!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cz_scrap
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 06:27:00

    Another milestone reached!!Sounds like a great first day-I love your tradition of dinner at Denny’s. I try to bake cookies or something for dd when she comes home the first day! I’m impressed with all she does to fix her lunch-she will be so ready to be on her own and I like that she’s beginning to understand just how much work mom’s put into things.

    Reply

  2. Annette33
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 07:45:00

    I do first day of school pics on our front porch.  The girls wrap their arms around a column at the front of our house.  New colums this year!  The girls started packing their own lunches in the middle of last year.  I started them off this year doing the same thing.  They do have a choice of eating in the cafeteria or sack lunch, and they also decide at the market, what they will be packing this week.  Little dd often buys a hot lunch, because she doesn’t want to mess with making her own.  Older dd is more picky about what she eats, and packs a lunch almost everyday.Older dd started walking to school this year, a five minute walk around the corner from our house.  My colleage drops off her dd at my house, and they head out about 7:30 am.  This has saved us lots of time in the morning.  Older dd will be able to do this for two years, with the grades at this school being 4th and 5th.  In 6th, she will be bussed across town, after she walks to the same school around the corner.  By then, little dd will be walking to the same school, so they can do this together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

