It’s Politics Talk Today

Some of you may be surprised that I’m a Republican.  Strangely enough, I was very surprised when I found out my dad was a Democrat.  I found this out when he was in his 80’s!  I think he chose to be a Democrat because he related more to them when he first came to this country.  They were probably more pro-middle class and more helpful to immigrants.  I’m actually not all that into politics, don’t know much about any issues, and can’t debate worth beans.  I also don’t have any strong feelings about any particular issue that’s really worth debating.  In general, I’m really more of a “I don’t care what you do as long as it doesn’t infringe on what I do” type of person.  I’m also not a far right Republican either; in fact, I’m sure my more conservative friends may be surprised about what I really think about some things (but not strongly!  )… it’s just that when you register to vote, you have to choose something, and I guess I felt I was more conservative than liberal.  Even with all that, I try to ensure I vote at every election, no matter how small it is.

Part of me want to see history made.  If Barack Obama picked Hilary Clinton, I possibly would have voted for him (GASP!), but he didn’t.  He picked Joe Biden.  I don’t know a lot about him, but he has been in politics for over 35 years.  That’s great experience, but … is that really a good thing?  So I went back to John McCain.  He chose a woman as his vice president!  That’s a pretty innovative and daring choice for a Republican candidate to make.  Of course I’ve never heard of her.  I know she is a fairly new politician being the governor of Alaska, although she has been a mayor before.  She is a mother of five, including a baby with Down Syndrome, and she is a Christian.  I think I know who I’m voting for president.

Many comments have been made about her running for VP while caring for her baby with special needs.  If she were a father instead, would anyone even question it?  She’s a mother of five; we should believe she knows what she’s doing.  There are real life mothers who have Down Syndrome babies who are working full-time too.  With the resources that Palin has, she should be able to campaign and carry out her responsibilities.  Family values doesn’t mean being a stay at home parent; it means valuing family.  I don’t believe that life should stop after you have a child (yeah, I know it’s really hard though) because you will grow bitter very quickly.  What a great role model she would make if she were to become vice president! 

Give me a couple of months, and I’ll tell you if I’ve changed my mind.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cz_scrap
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 06:47:00

    I’ve been on the fence too-I guess I would classify myself as a liberal republican(as opposed to dh who is a die hard republican and very vocal about it-it is going to be a long two months or so until the election-every night he goes on and on, almost makes me want to vote democrat just to get him…hmmm.sounds kind of passive agressive doesn’t it? Mostly I think I make him crazy ’cause he doesn’t know for sure which way I’ll be voting-heck, I’m not even sure-like you, I’m thinking McCain. I love Obama’s enthusiasm and hope for our country, but I’m not sure he’s quite ready to run a country just yet. Yet, McCain is pretty old and I think Palin may end up being president(hopefully not, hopefully he’ll be one of the lucky ones who is healthy(physically and mentally until he dies-guess watching my mom and dad deal with dad’s parkinson’s has me a bit wary-you never know what you will get hit with) and while be a working mother is definitely possible, I don’t know about running a country(I think if her kids were older I might feel a bit different)-but I could be totally wrong-do I sound like I’m on the fence????LOL! No matter what, it’s an exciting time…I keep thinking back to the 60’s, yeah I know it was a long time ago(How can I be that old to be talking about an era that wah 40 years ago?), but the idea of a black president or a woman vice president was unheard of!!!!There weren’t even woman newscasters back then.Sorry this got so long,,,,,Guess I should’ve just blogged this-huh?

    Reply

  2. boltnut55
    Aug 31, 2008 @ 04:24:00

    Cathy – thanks for sharing!  Copy and paste and you can update your blog!    Her kids are pretty old… the first three are 19, 17, and 14, all who probably don’t want her involvement.  The younger two are 7 years old and 4 months old.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

