I Played Volleyball and Can Still Walk!

Monday was Labor Day, and I went to our church picnic at Frontierland Park in Pacifica.  It was a very hot day, and that’s saying a lot when you’re talking about Pacifica!  The volleyball net was up, and some were playing.  My daughter and her friend, Moriah, went to play.  Finally, I went as well. 

I had to do a lot of running.  People were hitting the ball out of the court behind me, and since I was last, I had to run to get the ball.  Moriah was kind enough to offer to switch spots – we were playing informally – which I did, but the ball came to me anyway, so more running.  I played equivalent to about three games, and it was a great way to get some exercise instead of doing traditional gym things.

I manage to hit the ball several times; of course I missed the ball several times too, but generally I make up for my mistakes by my service!  The really interesting thing I found is that the young people… you know, the people I used to be… didn’t always know how to play!  I sort of assumed everyone knew how, I guess.  I would tell you all the funny stuff that happened, but it’s going to be one of those “you had to be there” type of things.  There was one time where something funny happened where I couldn’t stop laughing and almost had to take myself out of the game.    See, you had to be there!

Insight:  I learned to play volleyball in sixth grade, but most of the time was spent dodging the ball or hoping that the competitive boys didn’t run into us as they came out of their spot way over to ours to cover for us because we … well… dodged the ball!  In middle school, we had teams, but except for one girl, they were all popular skinny Chinese girls.  Although they weren’t necessarily cliquish, it looked like it, so it was too intimidating.  By the time I got to high school, I just assumed that the teams was for really great players.  It really wasn’t until I started watching Caitlin and her friends play for the school team that it occurred to me that wasn’t true!  You didn’t really have to be in shape either… as evidenced by the fact that I played on Monday!

My challenge to my readers:  Before the end of the month, go try a sport you don’t normally do, but don’t hurt yourself!  Amazingly, some of the things I actually can do are roller blading, ice skating, bowling, and badminton.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cz_scrap
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 06:04:00

    I used to love volleyball and both my kids play it now. Ds was on the varsity team in high school-I used to get a kick out of some of the players. There was one boy who goes to our church and seemed like the model kid(he really was in a lot of ways). But on the court, his competitive side came out and it was quite different! Hmmm… another sport-I’ll see if I can find one that I won’t end up doing permament damage to myself on( it’s good to start this at your age, I’m finding more and more of my friends are doing things like tearing their achilles tendon(seems to be the most common injury) and pulling their backs out. Sounds like a great thing.(playing volleyball, not pulling your back out-lol!)

    Reply

  2. boltnut55
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 17:44:00

    Cathy – my “test” for boyfriends (other people’s boyfriends) is to engage them in something competitve, like a board game, and see how they react.  If they are overly competitive, which is relative, or have anger management issues, it’s pretty hard to hide if they are losing.  I forgot to blog about this, but … although middle school had its ups and downs as far as discouragement of sports, high school was pretty encouraging, BUT that’s also when I joined my church, and I have to admit that was not encouraging at all and at the end, turned me completely off sports.  Some of them might be peeking at this blog, but whatever.  When we used to go to retreats, they will play a warm up game of volleyball, and I’d play. Once the scoring starts, I’m gone.  I won’t even watch!  On that Labor Day, the last game I played was scored, but because it had been pretty humorous the whole time, I stayed.  Otherwise, I was gone!

    Reply

  3. Annette33
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 14:07:00

    Before kids, when I was teaching jr high, I volunteered to play volleyball, faculty vs girls volleyball team.  Ha, the kids all thought I was pretending to play bad.I will be bowling on the 25th.  That is when practice starts for Special Olympics.  I plan to take some students to get them more involved.

    Reply

  4. Shutterbugd
    Nov 12, 2008 @ 10:59:00

    OHHH Volleyball!  I love V-Ball…LOL  played in H.S… wasn’t first string but it still was fun… and very good exercise.. I played once on our Church team one year and couldn’t move for two weeks…heehee  but I was totally outa shape beforehand.. every muscle hurt… I’ve been told that some of the ladies up here are gonna get me into cross country skiing… uhhhh… uh oh….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

