Live Like You Were Dying

I started this on May 9, 2009 but didn’t finish it, so here goes…

———-

I just finished watching a story on Connie Culp, the lady whose abusive husband shot her in the face that basically left her with half a face.  Through a donor, she just received reconstructive surgery and now has a face.  She’s able to sneeze, smile, and smell, things we generally take for granted.  During the interview with Diane Sawyer, she mentioned a song by Tim McGraw titled Live Like You Were Dying.  Below are the lyrics:

He said I was in my early forties with a lot of life before me 
when a moment came that stopped me on a dime 
and I spent most of the next days looking at the x-rays 
Talking bout the options and talking bout sweet time
I asked him when it sank in that this might really be the real end 
how’s it hit you when you get that kinda news 
man what’d you do 

and he said
I went sky diving; I went Rocky Mountain climbing 
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named fumanchu 
and I loved deeper and I spoke sweeter 
and I gave forgiveness I’d been denying 
and he said someday I hope you get the chance 
to live like you were dying.

He said I was finally the husband that most the time I wasn’t 
and I became a friend a friend would like to have 
and all the sudden going fishin wasn’t such an imposition 
and I went three times that year I lost my dad 
well I finally read the good book 
and I took a good long hard look at what I’d do if I could do it all again 

and then 
I went sky diving; I went Rocky Mountain climbing 
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named fumanchu 
and I loved deeper and I spoke sweeter 
and I gave forgiveness I’d been denying 
and he said someday I hope you get the chance 
to live like you were dying.

Like tomorrow was a gift and you got eternity to think about 
what’d you do with it what did you do with it 
what did I do with it 
what would I do with it? 

Sky diving 
I went Rocky Mountain climbing 
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named fumanchu 
and then I loved deeper and I spoke sweeter 
and I watched an eagle as it was flying 
and he said someday I hope you get the chance 
to live like you were dying.

On today’s episode of Flashpoint, it was focused on a young woman who had only two weeks to live.  Yes, it was a night of depressing TV shows, but it led to my thinking, so what if I only had a short time to live?  What would I do?  What would I not do?  Obviously, it is unrealistic to live every day as if you were dying.  No one would exercise; we’d all gorge ourselves on our favorite foods; we’d quit our jobs.  We’d use up all our money.  But… we might say “I love you” more; we might smell the proverbial flowers; we might scrapbook more… or decide not to scrapbook anymore.  Well, sadly, with the cancer in my female side of the family, it isn’t too far-fetched to think about having only a certain time period to live, so here’s my list of things to do on limited days:

  • Quit my job and have Daniel take family leave
  • Pick up Caitlin right after school, so I can see her more
  • Get right with God, not so that my rewards in Heaven would be better but that it’s the right thing to do
  • Eat good quality food at every meal instead of whatever’s on sale
  • Order food I really want at the restaurant instead of the cheapest item
  • Fret less
  • Do more outdoor things, like swing at the park
  • Ice skate
  • Watch less TV and surf the net less; use the phone more
  • Make a date with each of my best friends separately

And I am extra blessed to do it, I would take that world cruise:  http://www.cunard.com/WC2010/default.asp?Ship=PQM  106 days…

Dream, friends…

Leave a Reply

