How I Ended in Kansas Early June 2009…

If all goes well, the next handful of blogs will be on what I did in Kansas… but first I will explain how this all happened…

In 1998, I started scrapbooking… if you don’t know what that is, you can either google it, or I’ll blog about that some other day… At the same time, I started visiting scrapbooking sites on the internet.  Sometimes the sites were educational like www.gracefulbee, which is no longer there.  Others were shopping sites that were either brick and mortar ones who also did business on the internet or just internet business like http://creativexpress.com/.  Others also had a forum (AKA message board or community).  I ended up on one of these and have been on the site for over 10 years.  Their IRL and virtual stores are no longer in business, but the owners were kind enough to keep the website so that we’d have a place to communicate as a group.  Through the site, we asked questions both scrapbooking and non-scrapbooking related, shared prayer requests, talked about our families or problems we’re going through, and along the way, we became great virtual friends.

I have met some of these people in real life as well.  In 1999 or 2000, I met a group of women from this special site at a scrapbooking convention in Pleasanton.  I have also attend crops led by several of the ladies from the site.  In 2007, I met several of them in Las Vegas when I was on vacation.  My local scrapbooking buddy is from the site as well.  At this point, you’re wondering what this has to do with Kansas, right?

Late last year, there was buzz on the forum about going to a scrapbooking retreat, so we could meet each other.  I signed up!  We would be renting a house that is geared towards crafters.  How is a house set up that way?  It has several large rooms on the first floor that would normally be the dining room, living room, family room, or possible bedroom.  Instead of furniture for those rooms, they fill it with 6 foot tables (like the ones you can buy at Costco or rent from a party store) and special lighting. 

Crop Room

They decorate the bedrooms in cheerful paint colors with appropriate family-oriented framed art to provide a comfortable environment for crafters to get together.  Our house is called Maple Memories and located in McPherson, KS.

That’s how I ended up in Kansas on June 6th – 10th!

Next post:  All the pre-planning that happened prior to the trip…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cz_scrap
    Sep 19, 2009 @ 06:42:00

    I was on Graceful Bee too-switched over when it closed down. Looking forward tor eading more and reliving some Maple Memories!

    Reply

  2. Momof2GreatCats
    Sep 20, 2009 @ 09:17:00

    Sounds like a great time!  I love retreats!Jen (momof2greatcats)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

