This Week’s Training – One Week Left!

On Wednesday, May 4th, I walked 3 miles on the treadmill… it was the first time I was back in the gym!  I haven’t been in the gym for about 11 months.  Anyway, my 3 miles took about 51 minutes and included .3 miles at 11% grade hill.  I jogged about 30 seconds every 5 minutes, and in all I am very pleased with my time.  At that pace, I would finish the Bay to Breakers in 2 hours and 8 minutes.  I wish I could put a smiley face because I’d be using the one with the teeth showing!!!  However, treadmill walking is different than pavement walking as you will hear next…

On Saturday, May 7th, I did my 6 mile walk on Sawyer Camp Trail.  I spent 2 hours and 15 minutes there, but only about 1 hour and 53 minutes was really walking.  The rest was resting, using the toilet, stretching, taking photos, and tracking my time!  My Achilles tendonitus was around almost the entire walk, except for maybe the last mile or so.  Wow, it’s amazing to walk without pain.  I feel like I can walk 100 miles, but the pain just totally discourages me.

Lessons learned:  I need to position my water bottle and fanny pack in a way where my hands and arms won’t touch it while I’m walking.  I need to bring more food… Ritz crackers don’t count, so I will need to have some peanut M&Ms, almonds, banana, and some other food in my fanny pack during the race.  I need to decide on how to handle the stretching or non-stretching dilemma.  What foods should I bring with me?

Leave a Reply

