Day Two – Walking While Traveling on Business

I was in Avila Beach on Monday through Wednesday this week and decided that I would at least exercise one of those day.  The only day I could walk was Tuesday night.  I left work around 5:15 p.m. and went back to the hotel to change into my exercise gear.  It turned out I forgot to bring my fanny pack, so I had to carry my water bottle in one hand and the hotel key in the other.  I walked on the Bob Jones trail but didn’t have a watch, so I had to estimate my distance in terms of blocks, making 12 blocks into one mile… therefore one mile forward and one mile back to thr hotel in time to meet a co-worker for dinner. 

It took me 45 minutes to do the entire walk, so I’m really hoping I walked more than 2 miles!!!  Right now, I can only say that I walked to the “big tree past the vista point” and back, but hopefully next month, I’ll return with my pedometer to figure out the actual distance.  My calves hurt a little bit, but I tried to ignore it.  By the time I was almost done, the pain went away.  As it was one of hotter night of the year, I drank all my water.

Yeah, yeah.  I know.  I need to walk more to train better!!!

 

Leave a Reply

